“It’s better to do a dull thing with style than a dangerous thing without it.”
Charles Bukowski

“Without literature, life is hell.”
Charles Bukowski

“Some moments are nice, some are
nicer, some are even worth
writing about.”
Charles Bukowski, War All the Time

I had never heard of Charles Bukowski until a friend told me about a book he was reading called Post Office. I had worked at the Post Office for five long years and could only imagine what the book might be about. Jack said the book was about a man who worked for the Post Office for twelve years (twelve very long years I’m sure), and this was his story.

I went out the same day and bought the book; I had to read it. Once I started reading it,  I couldn’t stop and once I finished it, I went out and picked up Ham on Rye, fac.to.tum, and my favorite, Women. What stood out for me was that Bukowski wrote about real life; he wrote about the good and bad and he didn’t sugar coat it. I loved how graphic and true to life his writing was; how honest it was.

And I realized as I read through each of his books, this is how I want my own writing to be. I want to write about what is real, and I want my writing to be an honest reflection of life, even if it isn’t always perfect.

If you haven’t read anything by Bukowski yet, you must. Next time you’re out, pick up one of his books.

http://bukowski.net/bookranking/


Leave a Reply

